Smart Digital Books: The Bookscape

There has been a lot of scoffing out there about my series of posts in which I kick ePub to the curb and call for the adoption of Smart Digital Books.

I’ve tried to illustrate what I’ve meant with things such as this:

But it seems we live in an age where people need illustrations that spell things out in some detail. Personally, I find that shocking given that these are book people, who should be able to envision such things for themselves.

Part of it is probably my own fault too, for using the term “metadata.” I should have used a better term: metacontent.

Anyway, forget static illustrations. I’ve got a damned explicit video that now spells it all out.

And get this: It’s from Microsoft!

This is a talk from one of the TED conferences.

Watch the damned thing. I’m not going to explain it beforehand.

That is what I’ve been trying to drill into everyone’s heads. That is what Smart Digital Books will enable.

They will create a bookscape.

Google understands this. Has understood it all along.

Now do you finally understand it?

Previously at The eBook Test:

How Book Publishing Will Lose: eBooks Vs. Smart Digital Books
Smart Digital Books Metadata Notes #6
Smart Digital Books Metadata Notes #5
Smart Digital Books Metadata Notes #4
Smart Digital Books Metadata Notes #3
Smart Digital Books Metadata Notes #2
Smart Digital Books Metadata Notes #1
The Eleven Axioms of 21st Century Book Publishing
Dumb eBooks Must Die, Smart eBooks Must Live

2 responses to “Smart Digital Books: The Bookscape

  1. Pingback: Tormenting your iPad « iPublishing

  2. Pingback: Das eBook – Bankrotterklärung einer Branche? « iPublishing