Daily Archives: August 10, 2010

Blog Notes: WordPress Disaster!

I came to this blog yesterday to look up something and noticed the look was all changed.

OK. This happened once before when WordPress had a problem with CSS.

I figured this was the case again and I’d give them time to sort it out.

Today I looked at this blog and it’s still not right.

I go to Support and I find out the bottom line is this: Unilaterally and without notifying anyone, WordPress swapped out the Cutline theme I was using with something called Coraline.

They did this to everyone using the Cutline theme.

How disgusting, unprofessional, and smug is that?

There was absolutely no reason for this change that I can see.

Cutline was free, Coraline is free.

They should have told those of us using Cutline that Coraline existed and that we had the option to switch to it for the extra features it allegedly offers.

But no. Instead we’ve had our blogs ripped apart and gutted without any advanced warning!

I will have to do a lot of work to bring things back to right here.

And at this point, I’m not sure it’s worth the effort.

I’m having more fun over at Tumblr and have to consider switching all of this over to there. The result of that would be no Comments. Tumblr uses DISQUS as an option and I’m throroughly DISQUSted by that crappy system that has lost my Comments, lost my passwords, and done other abominable things.

So all past Comments here as well as the 466 (and counting!) that are backed-up for moderation would just be dumped if I move it all to Tumblr.

So, standby.