Death By Microsoft Windows XP

After enjoying a malware-free day or two, BAM! I got hit again last night!

And it’s a nasty nasty nasty one: AV Security Suite (AVSecuritySuite) Virus Removal Guide

And that got in while I had resident Avast! 5 anti-virus running!

Penetrated that shield like a slow knife in Dune.

And it brought along some friends too, namely SmitFraud, which I battled for nearly a week about three years ago!

So dig it. The malware was killing access to all my programs. Months ago, I downloaded Process Explorer and that saved my ass. It allowed me to kill the processes and begin to gain the upper hand.

A Quick Scan by Malwarebytes came up with four infections. An overnight Full Scan revealed one more.

But wait! This is Microsoft’s OS. You think that would be the end of it? [Insert Bitter Laugh]

I then did a Full Scan with Avast! 5 and it came up with three more infections!

So, another eighteen hours of my life wasted thanks to the shoddy workmanship of Microsoft.

Oh, don’t tell me upgrade to Windows 7. You miss the point: they should have gotten it all right back in the days of XP. It’s inexcusable.

All of you thinking of buying an iPad: Do it! It’s the only way to guarantee you’ll enjoy the Internet — and just the Internet, not its buggering.

Comments are closed.