Microsoft Windows: The Best iPad Ad

Windows users know the drill.

The machine begins to slow down. Processes begin to stutter.

And then Saving Your Settings takes forever.

All signs of an infection.

I did a quick scan last night and it found this:


Click = big

And then I started a comprehensive scan at 6AM this morning! And still got this:


Click = big

And this crap got in despite my running Avast! anti-virus all the time!

After Malwarebytes, I had to waste more time doing another comprehensive scan with Spybot S&D. And then to make certain the rootkit was gone, I downloaded and ran a special kill program that targets that specific rootkit to make sure it was gone. It was.

How many millions of people have had to go through this?

I’ve had to go through it several times. It’s astounding, how things manage to sneak into this machine even when the shields are up.

And people wonder why the iPad is selling in the millions?

Microsoft Windows is the best advertisement for the iPad!

8 responses to “Microsoft Windows: The Best iPad Ad

  1. Yup. I’ve used Macs exclusively since 1984. Not a single virus, email worm, or malware app, ever. Not one. Zilch. And while I do have anti-virus software installed, I was duped into buying it. (Stupid worthless crap!) I don’t have it running, either. Totally open, no defenses, in other words. Also no problems. :-)

    I suppose that will change someday, but not yet.

  2. Well said. My MacBook Pro has never been infected and I expect my iPad will be similarly pain-free.

  3. Eh. I had a Mac virus back in the 80s. I think it was the response to it that created Mac anti-virus software. It was an easy virus to remove, tho. Windows stuff is sometimes *impossible* — and I mean that literally. Some people have had no choice other than to do a clean install and lose whatever wasn’t backed-up. I haven’t had that happen — yet!

  4. I have several computers running Windows. All are used heavily online. None of them have antivirus software installed. None of them have ever been infected.

    Most infections come about because of carelessness. As long as you have safe browsing habits and are careful when using your email, your risk is greatly minimized.

    Granted, Mac users, statistically, suffer from malware infection far less, and this is due to the market share of the Mac OS. There are simply so many more systems running Windows, and therefore, it is far more profitable for a writer of malicious software to target that platform. As Apple gains more market share, this will change, unfortunately. When it happens, Apple will have to take a serious look at the security of their operating systems, which have so far been secondary to all else.

  5. Apple loves you for your money. Microsoft loves you for your time.

  6. “There are simply so many more systems running Windows, and therefore, it is far more profitable for a writer of malicious software to target that platform. As Apple gains more market share, this will change, unfortunately.”

    I’ve been hearing that argument since 2001. Maybe it’s true, but it’s like waiting for Godot. A lot can happen while you’re waiting for the Mac to become a virus magnet.

    To me it sounds like the guy on the street corner who proclaims that the end of the world is nigh. He keeps saying it, but every day the sun rises, my Mac just works, and life goes on.

  7. Erik, good point, to be sure. Perhaps my comment got a little evangelical at the end ;)

    However, I do believe my original point, directed more towards PC users who are at higher risk, is valid. Adopting safe browsing habits and using common sense is a very effective method of protection.

  8. On that we can agree, Tristan. I’ve always believed that the current lack of Mac-targeted doesn’t mean we can play fast and loose with security.