iBooks: No. This Is Wrong.

This has been bothering me since last night. And if I don’t post this now, I might not remember it for several days.


Click = big

That’s just wrong. That doesn’t belong there.

As some people have been pointing out in their own posts, there are strange loose ends and design inconsistencies that are beginning to sprout in iPhone OS and its Apple-created apps.

That is one of them. The Apple I knew would have never done that.

For those of us who are attuned to some aspects of design, to see things such as that come from Apple is beginning to really creep us out. It’s like a warning sign that some control has been lost … somewhere.

There are other things that are completely wrong with iBooks too, but this one has been bugging me for near 24 hours, so I had to get this out of my system.

More on iBooks when I have my own iPad.

8 responses to “iBooks: No. This Is Wrong.

  1. Are you talking about the button itself being there, or the ability to control text size at all?

    Because if you’re talking about the text size being adjustable, you really should hold off on complaining until after you have one. I’ve used/read a couple books now where this control has made all the difference in the world.

  2. umm… not to be rude, but have you noticed that all of that detail – except the name of the book and the page number – disappears when you touch the screen lightly in the middle?

    Maybe you were testing so fast, you didn’t give it a chance…

  3. Chris Cambron

    What about it bugs you? Is it that it is encroaching on the “printed page” or is it something to do with the icons?

  4. could you say what you think is wrong and why?

  5. Apple started showing a loss of taste when the company changed the name of .mac (“dotmac” – which I was never crazy about anyway) to MobileMe. Me? Me.com? That is so “trying to be cool and with it.” And iAds may be worse.

  6. >>>Maybe you were testing so fast, you didn’t give it a chance…

    Thanks for the clarification. Yes. I will retract when I have my own iPad if need be! I am good at beating myself up over these things, when necessary.

  7. I am kinda supprised that they didn’t put this in under settings. It works well, but it looks like something from Redmond.

  8. Actually, last night I looked at my screensnaps from MS Reader. It lacked such crap. They did well to hide it, but that’s still not to say MS Reader is better. Well, not yet.